In line with its application for accreditation with the National Commission for Academic Accreditation and Assessment (NCAAA), the Riyadh Colleges of Dentistry and Pharmacy went through the requisite process of the institutional and program review by external panels. Experts from Australia, the UK, the USA and Egypt together with liaison officers from the NCAAA conducted the external reviews which were conducted in November and December last year.
Professor Michael Morgan from Australia chaired the institutional review panel and was joined in the panel by Professor Johann de Vries (also from Australia); Professor Amr Abou El Ezz from Egypt; and Dr. Karen West from the USA. Dr. Zuhair Abduljabbar and Dr. Greg Maffet from the NCAAA assisted them as lead liaison officer and back-up liaison officer, respectively. The institutional review took place from 06 to 10 November 2010.
For the program review, there were separate review panels designated for each program.
The dentistry review panel was chaired by Professor Paul Wright from the UK. Prof. Wright is a Professor of Prosthetic Dentistry, and previously Dean of Dentistry and Director of the Institute of Dentistry, Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry at Queen Mary. He was assisted by Panel members, Dr. Harvey Widgor from the USA who is a Clinical Professor, Department of Oral Medicine, University of Illinois College of Dentistry and Adjunct Professor, Biomedical Engineering Northwestern University and by Dr. Anne Symons, an Associate Professor at the School of Dentistry, University of Queensland, Australia.
The review panel for pharmacy included Professor Colin Chapman and Professor Beverly Glass who are both from Australia and Professor George Spratto from the USA. Prof. Chapman is currently a Professional Fellow at the Australian Health Workforce Institute at the University of Melbourne. He is the Immediate Past Dean of the Faculty of Pharmacy at Monash University. Prof. Glass is the Foundation Chair of Pharmacy at the School of Pharmacy and Molecular Sciences, James Cook University (JCU), Townsville, Australia. Prof. Spratto is Dean Emeritus and Professor of Pharmacology, School of Pharmacy, West Virginia, Morgantown, USA and Adjunct Professor at the University of Connecticut, Stoors.
Dr. Eryn Agnew, the Community Relations Manager/Professional Consultant for Australian Dental Association Victorian Branch, and Convenor, Australian Dental Council (Clinical Examination Consultant (Periodontics) at the Royal Dental Hospital of Melbourne, Australia chaired the all-female review panel for dental hygiene. She was joined by Professor Elizabeth Davenport who is currently employed at the London School of Medicine and Dentistry, Queen Mary University of London and is active at all levels at QMUL in matters associated by learning, teaching and assessment. Associate Professor Judith Skelton completed the membership of the dental hygiene panel; she is Director for Coordinated Outreach for Education, Research and Service, Department of Oral Science, College of Dentistry, University of Kentucky, USA.
The other all-female review panel which was for the Clinical Laboratory Science program was led by Dr. Linda Crane. Dr. Crane is currently an Associate Professor and Director of Quality Assurance, Health Science, Faculty of Health Sciences and Medicine, Bond University in Queensland, Australia. The other members of the panel were Ms. Robyn Wells and Ms. Reitha Deiter. Ms. Wells is a Medical Scientist working in the Haematology Department, Pathology Queensland, Central Laboratory and is a member of the Australian Institute of Medical Scientist (AIMS), Haematology Society of Australia and New Zealand, International Society of Laboratory Haematology. Ms. Deither is currently working as a highly experience instructor in the Department of Medical Technology, Wichita State University , USA and is affiliated with the Americal Society of Clinical Pathologists (ASCP), the American Society of Clinical Laboratory Science (ASCLS) and the Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society, Kansas State University.
The program panel review teams were assisted by NCAAA’s Dr. Hussain Alawaji as lead liaison officer and by Dr. Eqbal Darandari as back up liaison officer. The review of the programs went from 05 to 09 December 2010.
Like many other colleges and universities in the Kingdom who have already completed their external reviews, the Riyadh Colleges of Dentistry and Pharmacy is still waiting for the official report and feedback regarding the reviews from the NCAAA.


Recent Tweets